INDEX A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Organismal Biology

Faculty

Name

Office

 

Email

Phone

Ackerman, Ralph 601 Science II   racker@iastate.edu 294-8676

Environmental and regulatory physiology of birds and reptiles, especially embryos.

Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Adams, Dean 241 Bessey   dcadams@iastate.edu 294-3834 (2876)

Comparative evolutionary biology; micro- and macroevolutionary morphology; theory and analytical methods in evolution; herpetology; morphometrics.

Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Biederman, Lori 307 Bessey   lbied@iastate.edu 294-3523

Plant-soil interactions, community ecology, restoration, plant population dynamics, conservation, agroecosystems

Bronikowski, Anne 341A Bessey   abroniko@iastate.edu 294-7170 (4553)

Evolution of life history variation with emphasis on senescence studied through field and laboratory experiments (physiological and molecular genetic), and mathematical/computational modeling.

Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Interdepartmental Genetics

Clark, Lynn 345 Bessey   lgclark@iastate.edu 294-8218

Systematics and morphology of grasses, in particular the woody bamboos.

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Colbert, Jim 113 Bessey   jtcolber@iastate.edu 294-9330

Excellence in learning of the basic biological sciences; service learning; aquatic ecology and biology; learning communities; education of pre-service secondary school biology teachers.

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Crumpton, Bill 129 Bessey   crumpton@iastate.edu 294-4752 (3983)

Wetland processes and function in agricultural landscapes; the dynamics of wetland energy flow and nutrient transformation; fate and effects of agricultural contaminants in wetlands; role of restored and constructed wetlands in water quality remediation.

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Environmental Science

Danielson, Brent 247 Bessey   jessie@iastate.edu 294-5248

Effects of complex landscapes on the dynamics and structure of populations and communities; plant-mammal prairie communities; impacts of agriculture on wildlife populations; effects of forest management strategies on animals and plants.

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Sustainable Ag

Debinski, Diane 249 Bessey   debinski@iastate.edu 294-2460

Conservation biology, landscape ecology, and restoration ecology; biodiversity assessment with remote sensing and GIS applications; metapopulation dynamics; habitat fragmentation; population viability assessment; prairie restoration and agroecology.

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Downing, John 235 Bessey   downing@iastate.edu 294-8880 (6363, 7373)

Aquatic ecology, water quality, watershed biogeochemistry and terrestrial ecology; microbial ecology; conservation of biodiversity; whole ecosystem restoration and management. Global comparative ecology.

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Environmental Science

Harpole, Stanley 343 Bessey   harpole@iastate.edu 294-7253

Community Ecology, species diversity, biodiversity theory, mathematical and statistical modeling

Hofmockel, Kirsten 237 Bessey   khof@iastate.edu 294-2589

Microbial ecology with an emphasis on carbon and nitrogen cycling in terrestrial ecosystems; mechanisms driving decomposition and nutrient cycling responses to climate change; biogeochemistry, plant microbe interactions.

 

Hufford, Matthew 339A Bessey   mhufford@iastate.edu 294-8511

Evolutionary and ecological genomics of crops and their wild relatives. Local adaptation, gene flow and introgression, selection during domestication and subsequent crop diffusion.

Evolutionary Ecology, Evolutionary Genomics, Population and Quantitative Genetics

Janzen, Fred 341 Bessey   fjanzen@iastate.edu 294-4230 (9347)

Biology of reptiles, including population genetic structure and molecular evolution; evolutionary physiology; computational biology; evolutionary ecology; conservation biology; life-history evolution; computer modelling of hybrid zones and population demography.

Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Interdeptmental Genetics

Jurik, Tom 137 Bessey   jurik@iastate.edu 294-5617

Functional ecology, restoration ecology, and agroecology; relating functional attributes of plants to the structure and function of plant populations and communities; relation of plant characteristics and microenvironments in prairie, wetland, crop, and weed species; acclimation processes; prairie reconstruction.

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Environmental Science

Lavrov, Dennis 343A Bessey   dlavrov@iastate.edu 294-9091

Animal evolution, phylogenetics and mitochondrial genomics; use of gene order data for the analysis of ancient relationships; comparative and population mitochondrial genomics of lower (non-bilaterian) animals.

Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Interdepartmental Genetics

Moloney, Kirk 143 Bessey   kmoloney@iastate.edu 294-6415

Theoretical plant population and community ecology in an explicit spatial context; spatial ecology of plants and animals; spatially explicit simulation models; analytical methods for study of scale of patterns; identification of pattern-forming processes. Interplay of theory, observation, and experimentation.

Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Nason, John 339 Bessey   jnason@iastate.edu 294-2268 (8228)

Use of genetic markers to investigate plant population and conservation genetics and insect herbivores and pollinators; reproductive dynamics, genetic structuring, and phylogeography of obligate pollination mutualisms; reproductive and genetic consequences of habitat fragmentation in animal dispersed plants.

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Interdepartmental Genetics

Pleasants, Barbara 111 Bessey   pleasant@iastate.edu 294-1536
Vertebrate evolution, bioethics.
Pleasants, John 115 Bessey   jpleasan@iastate.edu 294-7204

Plant/insect interactions.

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Raich, Jim 135 Bessey   jraich@iastate.edu 294-5073

Ecosystems ecology with emphasis on carbon cycling in terrestrial systems; mechanisms of effects of climate, disturbance, species, nutrient availability, and soil type on the movement of carbon through the atmosphere-plant-soil cycle.

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Environmental Science

Roe, Kevin 339 SCI2   kjroe@iastate.edu 294-8332

Conservation genetics, systematics, and evolution of freshwater organisms. Relationships between unionid mussels and their host fishes. Patterns of coevolution using molecular tools. Role historical processes play in the distribution of species.

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Interdepartmental Genetics

Serb, Jeanne 245 Bessey   serb@iastate.edu 294-7479

Molecular evolution, phylogenetics, and conservation of bivalved molluscs; evolution of development; evolution of novelty; evolution of eyes with a focus on invertebrates

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Interdepartmental Genetics

Spalding, Beatriz 349 Bessey   beatrizm@iastate.edu 294-4035

Plant systematics: Tropical grasses - Lecturer: Biology & Botany

Toth, Amy 309 Bessey   amytoth@iastate.edu 294-3121

Social behavior of bees and wasps, physiological and molecular basis of behavior, comparative evolutionary genomics

Valenzuela, Nicole 239 Bessey   nvalenzu@iastate.edu 294-1285

Ecological and Evolutionary genomics of phenotypic plasticity, developmental pathways, and sex determination. Life history evolution, conservation and ecological genetics of turtles.

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Interdepartmental Genetics

van der Valk, Arnold 141A Bessey   valk@iastate.edu 294-4374

Restoration and creation of wetlands; revegetation of restored wetlands in the prairie pothole region and in South Florida (Kissimme River and Everglades).

Ecology and Environmental Biology, Environmental Science

Wallace, Rob 311 Bessey   rwallace@iastate.edu 294-0367

Evolutionary phylogenetics; determining relationships among plant groups to construct phylogenies; application of new information to taxonomic re-evaluation; utilization biochemical/molecular investigations in concert with morphological, cytological, and biogeographic data to examine plant evolution.

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Wendel, Jonathan
EEOB Department Chair

251B Bessey   jfw@iastate.edu 294-7172 (7098)

Molecular evolution, genome evolution, and phylogenetics of higher plants; use of molecular and genetic tools to explore evolutionary change in DNA sequences and relationships with morphological change; analysis of polyploidy, with a special focus on the cotton genus.

Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Interdepartmental Genetics

Wilsey, Brian 131 Bessey   bwilsey@iastate.edu 294-0232

Ecology and restoration of prairie grasslands, specifically on how biodiversity is maintained in these systems, how it is altered by non-native species, how it alters ecosystem resistance and resilience to changes in the environment.

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Name

Office

 

Email

Bowen, Bonnie 209 Bessey   bsbowen@iastate.edu
Clark, William 233 Bessey   wrclark@iastate.edu

Farrar, Don
( Professor, EEOB)

337 Bessey   dfarrar@iastate.edu

Farrar, Eugenia
( Professor, EEOB)

337 Bessey   esf@iastate.edu

Lersten, Nels
( Professor, EEOB)

13 Bessey   nlersten@iastate.edu

Vleck, Carol (Professor, EEOB)

Off Campus   cvleck@iastate.edu
Vleck, David Off Campus   dvleck@iastate.edu

Collaborating Faculty

Name

Institution

Position/Rank

Email

Courtney, Greg ISU Prof. of Entomology gwcourt@iastate.edu
Cotner, James Bryan Univ of Minnesota, St. Paul
Collaborator Professor
cotne002@umn.edu
Hill, Matthew E. Jr. Univ of Iowa
Collaborator Asst Prof
matthew-e-hill@uiowa.edu
Holzapfel, Claus
Rutgers University
Collaborator, Assoc Prof
holzapfe@andromeda.rugers.edu
Kim, Hung Seok
Seoul Natl University, South Korea
Affiliate, Assoc Prof
kyungkim@snu.ac.kr
Widrlechner, Mark
ISU
Affiliate, Assoc Prof
isumw@iastate.edu
Severin, Andrew
ISU
Adjunct Asst Professor
severin@iastate.edu
Stets, Edward Gabriel US Geological Survey Collaborator, Asst Professor

estets@usgs.gov

Striegl, Robert G
US Geological Survey
Collaborator Professor
rstriegl@usgs.gov

Courtesy Joint Appointees

Name

Office

 

Email

Courtney, Greg 432 Science II   gwcourt@iastate.edu
Folinsbee, Kaila 319C Curtiss   kfolinsb@iastate.edu
Harris, Mary 137 Science II   maharris@iastate.edu

Post-Doctoral Research Associates and Technical Staff

Name

Office

 

Lab

Email

Badenhorst, Daleen 234 Bessey   Valenzuela dbaden@iastate.edu
Bell, Sheryl 211 Bessey   Hofmockel bellsl@iastate.edu
Chaffee, Carol 208 Bessey   Roe cchaffee@iastate.edu
Dolezal, Adam 353 Bessey   Toth adolezal@iastate.edu
Faggionato, Davide 234 Bessey   Serb davidef@iastate.edu
Filstrup, Christopher 207 Bessey   Downing filstrup@iastate.edu
Fisher, Steven Lakeside Lab   Crumpton idiot@iastate.edu
Geffre, Amy 454 Bessey   Toth acgeffre@iastate.edu
Grover, Corrinne 353 Bessey   Wendel corrinne@iastate.edu
Houston, Derek 234 Bessey   Nason dhouston@iastate.edu
Hu, Guanjing 353 Bessey   Wendel hugj2006@iastate.edu
Jandt, Jennifer 234 Bessey   Toth jandt@iastate.edu
Kendall, Dan
119 Bessey   Downing dlk@iastate.edu
Masonbrink, Rick 353 Bessey   Wendel remkv6@iastate.edu
Mitchell, Timothy 208 Bessey   Janzen timmitch@iastate.edu
Renny-Byfield, Simon 353 Bessey   Wendel simonrb@iastate.edu
Sherratt, Emma 234 Bessey   Adams sherratt@iastate.edu
Stenback, Greg 127 Bessey   Crumpton gastenba@iastate.edu
Stenback, Jana 127 Bessey   Crumpton janazahn@iastate.edu
Vogel, Jennifer 231W Bessey   Debinski jenvogel@iastate.edu
von Busse, Rhea 211 Bessey   Debinski vonbusse@iastate.edu
Whitehouse, Lisa 207 Bessey   Downing lvlaming@iastate.edu
Williams, Clayton 207 Bessey   Downing claytonw@iastate.edu
Wolf, Alexandra 256 Bessey   Hofmockel awolf@iastate.edu
Yang, Fan 234 Bessey   Hofmockel fyang@iastate.edu

Support staff

Name

Office

 

Position

Email

Leshem, Adah 236 BRL   Program Director/Plant Genomics Outreach adah@iastate.edu
340 Bessey   Herbarium Curator dlewis@iastate.edu
Mahoney, Stephen
504B Bessey   Greenhouse Manager sjm@iastate.edu
Sanderson, Ryan 211 Bessey   Systems Support Specialist rmsande@iastate.edu

EEOB Office staff

Name

Office

 

Position

Email

Hayes, Jacki 253A Bessey   Program Assistant jrhayes@iastate.edu
Hurley, Debbie 253 Bessey   Account Clerk dhurley@iastate.edu
McMahon, Janet 251C Bessey   Administrative Specialist jmcmaho@iastate.edu

Biology staff

Name

Office

 

Position

Email

Girton, Lois 103 Bessey   Academic Advisor lgirton@iastate.edu
Holtz, Jim 101 Bessey   Academic Advisor jholtz@iastate.edu
Leon, Arturo 133 Bessey   Teaching Lab Associate leonart2@iastate.edu
Skelton, Chanda
133 Bessey   Teaching Lab Associate riedelc@iastate.edu
Sprong, Sue 103 Bessey   Secretary ssprong@iastate.edu
Westgate, Linda 139 Bessey   Teaching Lab Coordinator lmwest@iastate.edu