INDEX A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Organismal Biology

A-C | D-F | G-I | J-L | M-O | P-R | S-U | V-Z | Emeritus

Name

Office

Email

Phone

Ackerman, Ralph 601 Science II racker@iastate.edu 294-8676
Environmental and regulatory physiology of birds and reptiles, especially embryos.
Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Adams, Dean 241 Bessey dcadams@iastate.edu 294-3834 (2876)
Comparative evolutionary biology; micro- and macroevolutionary morphology; theory and analytical methods in evolution; herpetology; morphometrics.
Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Biederman, Lori 230 Bessey lbied@iastate.edu 294-3523
Plant-soil interactions, community ecology, restoration, plant population dynamics, conservation, agroecosystems
Bronikowski, Anne 237Bessey abroniko@iastate.edu 294-7170 (4553)
Evolution of life history variation with emphasis on senescence studied through field and laboratory experiments (physiological and molecular genetic), and mathematical/computational modeling.
Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Interdepartmental Genetics
Clark, Lynn 345 Bessey lgclark@iastate.edu 294-8218
Systematics and morphology of grasses, in particular the woody bamboos.
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Colbert, Jim 113 Bessey jtcolber@iastate.edu 294-9330
Excellence in learning of the basic biological sciences; service learning; aquatic ecology and biology; learning communities; education of pre-service secondary school biology teachers.
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Crumpton, Bill 129 Bessey crumpton@iastate.edu 294-4752 (3983)
Wetland processes and function in agricultural landscapes; the dynamics of wetland energy flow and nutrient transformation; fate and effects of agricultural contaminants in wetlands; role of restored and constructed wetlands in water quality remediation.
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Environmental Science
A-C | D-F | G-I | J-L | M-O | P-R | S-U | V-Z | Emeritus
Danielson, Brent 247 Bessey jessie@iastate.edu 294-5248
Effects of complex landscapes on the dynamics and structure of populations and communities; plant-mammal prairie communities; impacts of agriculture on wildlife populations; effects of forest management strategies on animals and plants.
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Sustainable Ag
Debinski, Diane 249 Bessey debinski@iastate.edu 294-2460
Conservation biology, landscape ecology, and restoration ecology; biodiversity assessment with remote sensing and GIS applications; metapopulation dynamics; habitat fragmentation; population viability assessment; prairie restoration and agroecology.
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Downing, John 235 Bessey downing@iastate.edu 294-8880 (6363, 7373)
Aquatic ecology, water quality, watershed biogeochemistry and terrestrial ecology; microbial ecology; conservation of biodiversity; whole ecosystem restoration and management. Global comparative ecology.
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Environmental Science
A-C | D-F | G-I | J-L | M-O | P-R | S-U | V-Z | Emeritus
Harpole, Stanley Off Campus harpole@iastate.edu  
Community Ecology, species diversity, biodiversity theory, mathematical and statistical modeling
Heath, Tracy Off Campus tracyh@berkley.edu
Macroevolution, statistical phylogenetics, Bayesian inference, paleontology, systematics, comparative biology, scientific computing
Hofmockel, Kirsten 237 Bessey khof@iastate.edu 294-2589
Microbial ecology with an emphasis on carbon and nitrogen cycling in terrestrial ecosystems; mechanisms driving decomposition and nutrient cycling responses to climate change; biogeochemistry, plant microbe interactions
Hufford, Matthew 339A Bessey mhufford@iastate.edu 294-8511
Evolutionary and ecological genomics of crops and their wild relatives. Local adaptation, gene flow and introgression, selection during domestication and subsequent crop diffusion.
A-C | D-F | G-I | J-L | M-O | P-R | S-U | V-Z | Emeritus
Janzen, Fred 343 Bessey fjanzen@iastate.edu 294-4230 (9347)
Biology of reptiles, including population genetic structure and molecular evolution; evolutionary physiology; computational biology; evolutionary ecology; conservation biology; life-history evolution; computer modelling of hybrid zones and population demography.
Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Interdeptmental Genetics
Jurik, Tom 137 Bessey jurik@iastate.edu 294-5617
Functional ecology, restoration ecology, and agroecology; relating functional attributes of plants to the structure and function of plant populations and communities; relation of plant characteristics and microenvironments in prairie, wetland, crop, and weed species; acclimation processes; prairie reconstruction.
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Environmental Science
Lavrov, Dennis 343A Bessey dlavrov@iastate.edu 294-9091
Animal evolution, phylogenetics and mitochondrial genomics; use of gene order data for the analysis of ancient relationships; comparative and population mitochondrial genomics of lower (non-bilaterian) animals.
Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Interdepartmental Genetics
A-C | D-F | G-I | J-L | M-O | P-R | S-U | V-Z | Emeritus
Moloney, Kirk 143 Bessey kmoloney@iastate.edu 294-6415
Theoretical plant population and community ecology in an explicit spatial context; spatial ecology of plants and animals; spatially explicit simulation models; analytical methods for study of scale of patterns; identification of pattern-forming processes. Interplay of theory, observation, and experimentation.
Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Nason, John 341 Bessey jnason@iastate.edu 294-2268 (8228)
Use of genetic markers to investigate plant population and conservation genetics and insect herbivores and pollinators; reproductive dynamics, genetic structuring, and phylogeography of obligate pollination mutualisms; reproductive and genetic consequences of habitat fragmentation in animal dispersed plants.
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Interdepartmental Genetics
A-C | D-F | G-I | J-L | M-O | P-R | S-U | V-Z | Emeritus
Pleasants,Barbara 111 Bessey pleasant@iastate.edu 294-1536
Vertebrate evolution, bioethics.
Pleasants, John 115 Bessey jpleasan@iastate.edu 294-7204
Plant/insect interactions.
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Raich, Jim 135 Bessey jraich@iastate.edu 294-5073
Ecosystems ecology with emphasis on carbon cycling in terrestrial systems; mechanisms of effects of climate, disturbance, species, nutrient availability, and soil type on the movement of carbon through the atmosphere-plant-soil cycle.
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Environmental Science
Roe, Kevin 339 SCI2 kjroe@iastate.edu 294-8332
Conservation genetics, systematics, and evolution of freshwater organisms. Relationships between unionid mussels and their host fishes. Patterns of coevolution using molecular tools. Role historical processes play in the distribution of species.
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Interdepartmental Genetics
A-C | D-F | G-I | J-L | M-O | P-R | S-U | V-Z | Emeritus 4
Serb, Jeanne 245 Bessey serb@iastate.edu 294-7479
Molecular evolution, phylogenetics, and conservation of bivalved molluscs; evolution of development; evolution of novelty; evolution of eyes with a focus on invertebrates
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Interdepartmental Genetics
Spalding, Beatriz 349 Bessey beatrizm@iastate.edu 294-4035
Plant systematics: Tropical grasses - Lecturer: Biology & Botany
Toth, Amy 309 Bessey amytoth@iastate.edu 294-3121
Social behavior of bees and wasps, physiological and molecular basis of behavior, comparative evolutionary genomics
A-C | D-F | G-I | J-L | M-O | P-R | S-U | V-Z | Emeritus 4
Valenzuela, Nicole 239 Besseynvalenzu@iastate.edu 294-1285
Ecological and Evolutionary genomics of phenotypic plasticity, developmental pathways, and sex determination. Life history evolution, conservation and ecological genetics of turtles.
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Interdepartmental Genetics
van der Valk, Arnold 141A Bessey valk@iastate.edu 294-4374
Restoration and creation of wetlands; revegetation of restored wetlands in the prairie pothole region and in South Florida (Kissimme River and Everglades).
Ecology and Environmental Biology, Environmental Science
Wallace, Rob 311 Bessey rwallace@iastate.edu 294-0367
Evolutionary phylogenetics; determining relationships among plant groups to construct phylogenies; application of new information to taxonomic re-evaluation; utilization biochemical/molecular investigations in concert with morphological, cytological, and biogeographic data to examine plant evolution.
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Wendel, Jonathan 251B Bessey jfw@iastate.edu 294-7172 (7098)
EEOB Department Chair

Molecular evolution, genome evolution, and phylogenetics of higher plants; use of molecular and genetic tools to explore evolutionary change in DNA sequences and relationships with morphological change; analysis of polyploidy, with a special focus on the cotton genus.

Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Interdepartmental Genetics
Wilsey, Brian 131 Bessey bwilsey@iastate.edu 294-0232
Ecology and restoration of prairie grasslands, specifically on how biodiversity is maintained in these systems, how it is altered by non-native species, how it alters ecosystem resistance and resilience to changes in the environment.
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

 

 

Name

Office

 

Email

Bowen, Bonnie

Off Campus   bsbowen@iastate.edu

Clark, William
(Professor, EEOB)

37 Bessey   wrclark@iastate.edu

Farrar, Don
(Professor, EEOB)

340 Bessey   dfarrar@iastate.edu

Farrar, Eugenia
(Professor, EEOB)

    esf@iastate.edu

Vleck, Carol
(Professor, EEOB)

Off Campus   cvleck@iastate.edu
Vleck, David Off Campus   dvleck@iastate.edu

Collaborating Faculty

Name

Institution

Position/Rank

Email

Courtney, Greg ISU Prof. of Entomology gwcourt@iastate.edu
Cotner, James Bryan Univ of Minnesota, St. Paul
Collaborator Professor
cotne002@umn.edu
Hill, Matthew E. Jr. Univ of Iowa
Collaborator Asst Prof
matthew-e-hill@uiowa.edu
Holzapfel, Claus
Rutgers University
Collaborator, Assoc Prof
holzapfe@andromeda.rugers.edu
Kim, Hung Seok
Seoul Natl University, South Korea
Affiliate, Assoc Prof
kyungkim@snu.ac.kr
Widrlechner, Mark
ISU
Affiliate, Assoc Prof
isumw@iastate.edu
Severin, Andrew
ISU
Adjunct Asst Professor
severin@iastate.edu
Stets, Edward Gabriel US Geological Survey Collaborator, Asst Professor

estets@usgs.gov

Striegl, Robert G
US Geological Survey
Collaborator Professor
rstriegl@usgs.gov

Courtesy Joint Appointees

Name

Office

 

Email

Courtney, Greg 432 Science II   gwcourt@iastate.edu
Folinsbee, Kaila 319C Curtiss   kfolinsb@iastate.edu
Harris, Mary 137 Science II   maharris@iastate.edu
 

Post- Doctoral Research Associates & Technical Staff | Support Staff | Office Staff | Biology Staff

Post-Doctoral Research Associates and Technical Staff

Name

Office

Position

Lab

Email

Phone

Bell, Sheryl 211 Bessey Assistant Scientitst Hofmockel bellsl@iastate.edu  
Bay, Guillaume 256 Bessey Post Doc Hofmockel gbay@iastate.edu  
Chaffee, Carol 208 Bessey Post Doc Roe cchaffee@iastate.edu 4-4243
Dolezal, Adam 353B Bessey Post Doc  Toth adolezal@iastate.edu 4-7499
Faggionato, Davide 234 Bessey Post Doc Serb davidef@iastate.edu 4-1968
Filstrup, Christopher 207 Bessey Post Doc  Downing filstrup@iastate.edu 4-6363
Fisher, Steven Lakeside Lab Assistant Scientist  Crumpton swfisher@iastate.edu 4-3983
Gallaher, Timothy 208 Bessey Post Doc Clark, L gallaher@iastate.edu
Gong, Lei   Post Doc Wendel gongl086@iastate.edu 4-7499
Grover, Corrinne 353 Bessey Assiant Scientist  Wendel corrinne@iastate.edu 4-7499
Hoekstra, Luke 234 Bessey Post Doc Janzen lhoek@iastate.edu
Houston, Derek 234 Bessey Post Doc Nason dhouston@iastate.edu
Hu, Guanjing 353 Bessey Post Doc  Wendel hugj2006@iastate.edu
Jandt, Jennifer 234 Bessey Post Doc  jandt@iastate.edu 4-1968
Keiser, Ashley 256 Bessey Post Doc Hofmockel akeiser@iastate.edu  
Kendall, Dan 123 Bessey Research Associate  Downing dlk@iastate.edu 4-2170
Masonbrink, Rick 353 Bessey Post Doc  Wendel remkv6@iastate.edu 4-7499
Mitchell, Timothy 208 Bessey Post Doc  Janzen timmitch@iastate.edu
Montiel Jimenez, Eugenia 234 Bessey Post Doc Valenzuela emontiel@iastate.edu
Renny-Byfield, Simon 353B Bessey Post Doc Wendel simonrb@iastate.edu 4-7499
Stenback, Greg 127 Bessey Associate Scientist  Crumpton gastenba@iastate.edu 4-3983
Stenback, Jana 127 Bessey Assistant Scientist  Crumpton janazahn@iastate.edu 4-3983
Veldman, Joseph 227 Bessey Post Doc Danielson jveldman@iastate.edu  
von Busse, Jana Rhea 211 Bessey Visiting Scientist Debinski vonbusse@iastate.edu
Vogel, Jennifer 231W Bessey Post Doc  Debinski jenvogel@iastate.edu
Wang, Li 234 Bessey Post Doc Hufford lwang@iastate.edu
Whitehouse, Lisa 207 Bessey Research Associate  Downing lvlaming@iastate.edu 4-7373
Williams, Clayton 207 Bessey Post Doc  Downing claytonw@iastate.edu 4-7373
Wolf, Alexandra 256 Bessey Post Doc Hofmockel awolf@iastate.edu  
Yang, Fan 234 Bessey Post Doc  Hofmockel fyang@iastate.edu 4-1968

Post- Doctoral Research Associates & Technical Staff | Support Staff | Office Staff | Biology Staff

Support staff

Name

Office

 

Position

Email

Phone

Leshem, Adah 236 BRL   Program Director/Plant Genomics Outreach adah@iastate.edu 4-8543
Lewis, Deborah 340 Bessey   Herbarium Curator dlewis@iastate.edu 4-9499
Mahoney, Stephen 504B Bessey   Greenhouse Manager sjm@iastate.edu 4-8250
Sanderson, Ryan 211 Bessey   Systems Support Specialist rmsande@iastate.edu 4-1034

Post- Doctoral Research Associates & Technical Staff | Support Staff | Office Staff | Biology Staff

EEOB Office staff

Name

Office

 

Position

Email

Phone

Hayes, Jacki 251D Bessey   Program Assistant jrhayes@iastate.edu 4-0133
Hurley, Debbie 251 Bessey   Account Clerk dhurley@iastate.edu 4-0132
McMahon, Janet 251C Bessey   Administrative Specialist jmcmaho@iastate.edu 4-3523

Post- Doctoral Research Associates & Technical Staff | Support Staff | Office Staff | Biology Staff

Biology staff

Name

Office

 

Position

Email

Phone

Girton, Lois 103 Bessey   Academic Advisor lgirton@iastate.edu 4-1606
Holtz, Jim 101 Bessey   Academic Advisor jholtz@iastate.edu 4-2558
Kapler, Emily 105B Bessey   Student Services Specialist ekapler@iastate.edu 4-8628
Leon, Arturo 133 Bessey   Teaching Lab Associate leonart2@iastate.edu 4-0434
Skelton, Chanda
230 Bessey   Teaching Lab Associate riedelc@iastate.edu 4-0434
Sprong, Sue 103 Bessey   Secretary ssprong@iastate.edu 4-1064
Tawes, Brittany 131 Bessey   Teaching Lab Associate btawes@iastate.edu 4-0434
Westgate, Linda 139 Bessey   Teaching Lab Coordinator lmwest@iastate.edu 4-9727
Williams, Richard 103 Bessey   Program Coordinator dickwms@iastate.edu 4-1070

Post- Doctoral Research Associates & Technical Staff | Support Staff | Office Staff | Biology Staff